Self Waxing

This could be a TMI post but there are times when I would research on topics I’m too embarrassed to ask someone else and wouldn’t find any useful results. I am sharing my experience in hopes that it would help educate another sister (or brother) and save them the pain of having to figure things out by themselves.

Self Waxing — others may find it taboo or too painful. Some may prefer full, others trimmed, others completely bare. It’s all a matter of personal preference. No judgement. I’m talking about bikini epilation — waxing to be exact.

Due to the pandamic, I’ve decided it would be safer to avoid places where close proximity is required to provide services. Apart from that, I only ever go to one person for this particular service as I find the procedure too revealing but we could never get our schedules to align.

So I resolved the issue by buying those ready wax strips-in-a-box from a local supermarket and decided to DIY it.

Here it is.

From left: Kit box, wax strips, post-waxing care

To have an idea how the strips are used, see this video.

To have an idea how it’s done (for females), I’d recommend this video. In this video, the presenter is using sugar wax, but pay close attention to the sequence and technique. You are most welcome to check out other videos.

Each pack contains 10×2 re-usable wax strips, 4 post-wax skin care wipes, and a leaflet containing instructions and more information about the product. Note: when the box says “re-usable,” it meant re-useable on the same session. Please don’t save used strips for another day. Ew.

Based on experience, the hardest part was to get started. Since I was anticipating the pain I was about to inflict on myself, I hesitated several times first before I made a successful pull. There were times when everything became tangled and messy too. However, once I got the hang of it, it made things a lot easier.

A trip to the salon for a Brazilian Wax (meaning “completely bare”) would easily cost me Dhs100 and above. A box of this DIY pack costs about Dhs17. I went through 2 boxes and the price I spent is still a win! Plus I got to learn a new skill!

This is the second box.

Noticed that the wax colors are different? Pink (for sensitive skin), yellow (for normal skin). I didn’t find any difference when I used them. Also, I needed a quick clean up of the leftovers in the end but have ran out of strips so I tried to use the big strips I have in stock (for other parts) and still didn’t feel anything different in the use apart from the wax being spread on the sheet thicker and I had to cut it into smaller manageable pieces. Please share in the comment box if you’ve tried them and noticed any differences.

I find my DIY spa / salon adventures enjoyable.

What’s your idea of self-care?

Leave a comment