The DIY Christmas Series : Cards

Christmas cards with the upcycle Christmas decors. My piglets are photo bombing the scene. Lol.
Christmas cards with the upcycle Christmas decors. My piglets are photo bombing the scene. Lol.

A long overdue project. This was due in October and we are uber late for our DIY post. Kaye and her husband Gio traveled to the Philippines and I got some unforeseen busy schedule PLUS I did not anticipate that Card No. 2 would take this long. Lol.

Check out Kaye’s entry here and mine are below…

Card No. 1
~ Hand-painted ~

I have never heard of a black Christmas card nor a hand-painted one, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Step 1: Black A5 size colored paper I got lying around and drew a boarder for later.
Step 1: Black A5 size colored paper I got lying around and drew a boarder for later.
Step 2: Draw guidelines for lettering later and start painting away.
Step 2: Draw guidelines for lettering later and start painting away.
Step 3: Yeah, it's mistletoe. :) The colors look great on black background.
Step 3: Yeah, it’s mistletoe. πŸ™‚ The colors look great on black background.
Step 4: Repeat design on the opposite bottom corner and pencil out the card greeting
Step 4: Repeat design on the opposite bottom corner and pencil out the card greeting
Step 5: Write on top of the penciled lettering with paint. Red will not be seen on the black background so I put white on first. This will later serve as highlights
Step 5: Write on top of the penciled lettering with paint. Red will not be seen on the black background so I put white on first. This will later serve as highlights
TA DAAAA!! I overdid the highlights but it's okay. I painted small yellow dots on the boarder as a finishing touch
TA DAAAA!! I overdid the highlights but it’s okay. I painted small yellow dots on the boarder as a finishing touch

Card No. 2:
~ Stitched ~

This is the card which I did not anticipate would take a while. Little tip: Needles & threads are better off with real cloth. I would have bought a cross stitch cloth but since it’s DIY with less expenditure as possible, I made do with what was available.

Step 1: Used already available DMC cross stitch threads from a previous project and started stitching away to create the form of a Christmas tree
Step 1: Used already available DMC cross stitch threads from a previous project and started stitching away to create the form of a Christmas tree
Step 2: I put other shades of green for a little 3D effect and made red french knots for the ornaments
Step 2: I put other shades of green for a little 3D effect and made red french knots for the ornaments
Step 3: Pencil out the greeting and back stitch with dark brown thread
Step 3: Pencil out the greeting and back stitch with dark brown thread
Step 4: What's a tree without a star??!! :) I am honestly proud of this star...
Step 4: What’s a tree without a star??!! πŸ™‚ I am honestly proud of this star…
Step 5: Back stitched the boarders with dark red thread. Kindof cheated on this one. Instead of making short back stitches, I made long, 1-inch stitches. I did say hard paper is NEVER ideal for needles. Lol.
Step 5: Back stitched the boarders with dark red thread. Kindof cheated on this one. Instead of making short back stitches, I made long, 1-inch stitches. I did say hard paper is NEVER ideal for needles. Lol.
Step 6: Flip the card and glue a white scratch paper to seal in the stitches
Step 6: Flip the card and glue a white scratch paper to seal in the stitches
TA DAAAA!!! I added a plain red colored paper and stuck the "tree card" on top for added color effect
TA DAAAA!!!
I added a plain red colored paper and stuck the “tree card” on top for added color effect

*****

There you have it! My first time to make my own greeting cards ^_^.

*****

Behind the scene:

Needles are DEFINITELY made for cloth. Lesson learned! :) RIP, Needle.
Needles are DEFINITELY made for cloth. Lesson learned! πŸ™‚ RIP, Needle.
4 thoughts on “The DIY Christmas Series : Cards

Leave a Reply

