Dreams Unlimited 2014

I have a habit of saying “pangarap ko to!” (“This is a dream come true!”) whenever I get to accomplish things out of my Bucket List. It was only recently when the BFF enlightened me that “Dreams” and “Bucket Lists” are two similar but actually different things. Dreams being things we want to achieve and the latter are things we want to do and experience before our time on Earth is over.

With that new information, it seemed to me that all I’ve been doing my entire life is ticking things off my Bucket List – I just aim to move from one item to the next. Seemed pathetic because I struggled to answer the question “in that case, what are my dreams???” Do I want a house? A car? Bungee jump somewhere?

Since the BFF and I decided that June’s blog will be about our dreams, I have done nothing but contemplate on knowing exactly what they are for me. (Read about hers in her blog)

Some of what you will read here may seem small to you or other people but these are mine and I hope one day I can achieve them.

 

Who am I?

I dream to leave a mark in this lifetime . My own identity achieved by my passion and whatever it is I do best. My road to figuring out what really makes my clock tick seems to be taking longer than I expected because until now, I’m not quite sure what I really want and where I really want to be. And when I do get there, how do I know I’m there?

The following dreams are mentioned and defined in no particular order. Of course, no matter which order I mention it, family always comes first in my book.

 

Independence

I am 29 years old and I still live with my family. My mother still comments about so many aspects about my life and because of this, at times when I’m really sure I know what I want to do, I hesitate knowing that she will have a different opinion which could escalate to an argument between us and I totally dislike the drama. I believe there is some point when we need to go out on our own and figure out for ourselves what we’re made of and how we apply them to our daily life for the rest of our lives. I do have the license to go out, have fun, date, etc. I guess I just feel that I will not be able to practice my full adult capacity unless I move out.

 

A place of my own
A place of my own

With Independence being said, Step 1 to be independent is to find my own place but separating from my family seems to be out of the question for now. However, I do dream of building / purchasing a place of my own. My parents have worked very hard to give us all the comfort that we have now (and I am so grateful and proud of them!), but I want to be able to do and have something and 100% claim that I worked hard for it. Though I am aiming for a house, a condo would not be bad (these options are for investments back home). But if we are talking about having my own place here in Abu Dhabi, I would settle for a small room with an attached bathroom to get started.

 

Savings & Loans
Savings & Loans

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that just in case some things do not go according to plan, you have funds to keep you safely afloat while strategizing your next move? Apart from trying to save, one of my priorities right now is to keep a good-paying job and help my parents in any way possible to keep our debts down to a minimum. I know how happy and comfortable my family would be especially our parents.

 

Mom & Dad
Mom & Dad

I dream for that day when I can tell my parents, “Mom, Dad, stop working. I’ll take it from here.” I want them to start relaxing and enjoying the rest of their life. I want to them to be able to travel and do anything they want and I’ll take care of everything they would need. They deserve it!

 

Travel
Travel

I want to see the world! I’m a sucker for old-style-looking places like Vigan in the Philippines and love the old bricked roads I see in pictures of London, France, Italy, and Spain. Castles and museums, too. I can easily loose myself in places like that. In general, I want to experience travelling anywhere I wish. This includes exploring all parts of the Philippines too.

 

Blogs
Blogs

Our blogs started out for fun and to keep in touch with each other. Since we agreed that we were to make it public, it doesn’t hurt to dream that one day we can do this professionally. Wouldn’t it be great to be able to do the things you love and get paid doing them?

 

Business
Business

If our blogs take off, it will be like a business all on its own. We need to find our content and present it well. If not blogging, I’ve always dreamt of having a coffee shop with an acoustic corner. Just a warm quiet place where everyone can just relax and hang out. I am currently in no position to start my own business at the moment. There is so much I feel I can try being good at. Hopefully when the day comes, I have already figured out what works for me.

 

School
School

I once dreamt of going back to school someday and be a Doctor, a long-time dream of mine. Since I have not seen any medical courses in Abu Dhabi, I am settling for any new things I could study, even if it’s just a short course. I love learning and nothing interests my mind more than when it’s being fed new information.

 

BFFs & Mini Us
BFFs & Mini Us

I am 1/3 of our BFF Trio and having our own commitments in our own sections of the globe, coming together would require lots of advance (or surprise!) planning. I have included “Mini Us” because NO WAY will our kids grow up not knowing their awesomest Ninangs!! The dream is to keep the bond between us strong throughout our lifetime and beyond. I met Kaye in 1994 (Happy 20 Years!!! OMG!!!) and Bel in 1999, and we’re all here to stay!

 

Bucket List
Bucket List

What are long term dreams when you don’t find time for short ones? The dream is to tick off as much as I can off my bucket list throughout my lifetime.

 

So there you have it. My dreams and some of the things I am made of….

Collage

 

PS —

marraige

I dream of someday finding Mr. Right, settle down and have a family. I did not include it in my dream board because I feel that it’s a whole other universe at the moment. *wink wink*

 

*****

“When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from your dreams are valid
– Lupita Nyong’o

2 thoughts on “Dreams Unlimited 2014

  1. ♥ Kayang kaya mo lahat yan. Dr. H! 🙂
    Thanks for including me in your dreams…. wow! 20 years 😀 I will be forever grateful you decided to call me that day.. who would’ve thought that it will be a start of something precious 🙂

    Cheers to us and our dreams! 😀

Leave a Reply

